Hydrogenase-based electrode for hydrogen sensing in a fermentation bioreactor

The hydrogen-based economy will require not only sustainable hydrogen production but also sensitive and cheap hydrogen sensors. Commercially available H2 sensors are limited by either use of noble metals or elevated temperatures. In nature, hydrogenase enzymes present high affinity and selectivity for hydrogen, while being able to operate in mild conditions. This study aims at evaluating the performance of an electrochemical sensor based on carbon nanomaterials with immobilised hydrogenase from the hyperthermophilic bacterium Aquifex aeolicus for H2 detection. The effect of various parameters, including the surface chemistry, dispersion degree and amount of deposited carbon nanotubes, enzyme concentration, temperature and pH on the H2 oxidation are investigated. Although the highest catalytic response is obtained at a temperature around 60 °C, a noticeable current can be obtained at room temperature with a low amount of protein less than 1 µM. An original pulse-strategy to ensure H2 diffusion to the bioelectrode allows to reach H2 sensitivity of 4 µA cm-2 per % H2 and a linear range between 1-20 %. Sustainable hydrogen was then produced through dark fermentation performed by a synthetic bacterial consortium in an up-flow anaerobic packed-bed bioreactor. Thanks to the outstanding properties of the A. aeolicus hydrogenase, the biosensor was demonstrated to be quite insensitive to CO2 and H2S produced as the main co-products of the bioreactor. Finally, the bioelectrode was used for the in situ measurement of H2 produced in the bioreactor in steady-state.

Tetyana Kyrpel, Vita Saska, Anne de Poulpiquet, Mathieu Luglia, Audrey Soric, et al.. Hydrogenase-based electrode for hydrogen sensing in a fermentation bioreactor. Biosensors and Bioelectronics, 2023, 225, pp.115106. ⟨10.1016/j.bios.2023.115106⟩. ⟨hal-03963086⟩

Journal: Biosensors and Bioelectronics

Date de publication: 01-04-2023

  • Tetyana Kyrpel
  • Vita Saska
  • Anne de Poulpiquet
  • Mathieu Luglia
  • Audrey Soric
  • Magali Roger
  • Oksana Tananaiko
  • Marie Thérèse Giudici-Orticoni
  • Elisabeth Lojou
  • Ievgen Mazurenko

Digital object identifier (doi): http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.bios.2023.115106

x >